Hi Lott

You’ve been very patient, but I’m finally free of all things work-related for three whole weeks and can start to focus on something much more important….yarn talk.

Thank you for the drop-spindle lesson yesterday. You’re such a good teacher – funny that, as you’ve not even been in the profession for ten years! I know you thought that I picked it up instantly and was a natural, but it was purely down to your really clear and patient instruction and encouragement. Anyway, this is where I finished yesterday, as you know:

IMG_0089

…and this is how much I’ve done since you left:

IMG_0089

…because I went back to trying to complete the ultimate cardigan. (Notice the sneaky view of the project bag label btw.)

Now I’ve been pondering this since we talked about it. Why is it that, for you, spinning is an end in itself, whereas I’m more about the finite? Why is it that you are far more open to learning the skill in and of itself, whereas for me, it’s all about completion? I can’t get my head around having more than one project on the go at one time, and actually find it quite stressful, but you revel in the prospect of dipping into lots of things at once. I wonder if it’s to do with me having more of a utilitarian attitude towards yarn work, rather than the more creative approach that you take? That would make sense, as it links to my hangups about the whole work-ethic thing. It’s like the toy-making; remember the first time I saw the wonderful Toft bunny at Woolfest last year and promptly decided that it would be far too tricky for my rudimentary crochet skills? Then, after getting the fabulous Edward’s Menagerie book and making Emma:

IMG_0181

it wasn’t long before I’d made a mini-menagerie of my own…

IMG_0231

but seemed to need there to be a purpose to it, rather than just for the pleasure of making them for their own sake. So the fact that they could be given as Christmas presents worked rather well for this mindset I seem to have got stuck into.

Anyway, I’m going to continue to ponder this. There is no point at all in having a hobby if it just becomes another job that needs doing. Might as well clean the oven. So, here’s the promise – I am going to finish my ultimate cardigan and then start on your puppy from the One & Two Company:

IMG_0088

…and then I’m going to give the spinning another go. And in the meantime, focus on the fact that just the process of making something is the lovely thing, not the finishing of something. Otherwise there’s no point.

And are we going to go to the wool festival in York next weekend, by the way?

Love,

Daz

Leave a Reply

